Reviews

Formulation: 200 ACTUAT Albuterol 0.09 MG/ACTUAT Metered Dose Inhaler
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 22 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 26
Weight: 154 lb / 70 kg
ProAir HFA - Tina - 07-03-2009

I used albuterol to control my asthma. I have had asthma my entire life. It is induced by exercise and allergies. I have recently switched to ProAir. I have noticed that it does not take affect as quickly as other inhalers I have had. I have had no side effects.

 
Formulation: Citalopram 20 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 4 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 26
Weight: 154 lb / 70 kg
Citalopraam - Tina - 07-03-2009

Citalopram has certainly changed my life. I had a severe anxiety attack about four years ago. I was unable to be in a crowd, get on a bus, drive, or sleep regularly. I began taking Citalopram and my anxiety symptoms quickly dissipated. I have been able to live a normal life and complete a graduate degree. I have experienced very few side effects. One side effect I do experience is that I do feel a bit more tired throughout the day than when not taking citalopram. I sleep an average of ten hours a night, but this is well worth the benefits I have experienced.

 
Formulation: Diazepam 2 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 2 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 28
Weight: 121 lb / 55 kg
Valium - minty - 07-03-2009

My doctor prescribed me this as I had severe depression and anxiety. I had sleepless nights and hectic mornings. But this tablet gave me much relaxation at night as I used to sleep sound and my mornings were much better then. On the other hand I went dependent on this for my sleep.

 
Formulation: 24 HR venlafaxine 75 MG Extended Release Capsule
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 5 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 37
Weight: -
Effexor - JJLR52 - 07-03-2009

I developed chronic depressive symptoms after being treated for Cushings Disease: sad-feelings, down times, fatigue, pain in joints, weakness. Initially I was prescribed 75 mg Effexor XR which I took in the mornings. My aches/pains and extreme fatigue were remarkably better in about 48 hours. This amount seemed to work well for 2 years, but I was experiencing increased anxiety and fatigue again and my doctor prescribed 75 mg twice/day. That helped and is the dose I remain at today. I tried taking 150 mg XR once/day but doesn't seem to work as well for me as 75mg XR twice/day.

 
Formulation: Triamcinolone 1 MG/ML Topical Cream
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 2 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 20
Weight: 101 lb / 46 kg
Rx Triamcinolone - Chris - 07-03-2009

I have a skin condition that some dermatologists say is eczema while others say they have no idea what it is. This skin problem has been with me my entire life, and I have used many different types of creams and ointments but have settled on the Triamcinolone, because it is the only cream that has the most effect. Although it may just be my skin, the Triamcinolone will work great for a couple of days then my rashes will come back after a week or so. I can't say that it is the cream not doing its job, but I do wish the active ingredient would be slightly stronger. Luckily, there are no side-effects at all.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 3 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 20
Weight: 101 lb / 46 kg
Claritin-D 24 Hour - Chris - 07-03-2009

I've only been taking Claritin-D 24 hours for three months and so far so good. Once the medicine takes effect, it does its job of lasting throughout the day. I've just recently developed allergies in the past year so allergy medication is pretty new to me. So far, Claritin-D 24 hours has been a good choice. My only complaint is that it takes a while before any effects show, but once it does it lasts throughout the day. Also, unlike other allergy medication, no side-effects!

 
Formulation: dihydroxyaluminum sodium carbonate 334 MG Chewable Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 1 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 20
Weight: 101 lb / 46 kg
Acid Relief - Chris - 07-03-2009

It's actually my mom that is taking the Acid Relief, but I've lived with her day in and day out to know how she is with it. So far, after a year of taking Acid Relief, she seems to be enjoying herself more. There aren't any side-effects that are noticeable nor has she complained about it at all. She has been happily being her old self enjoying food as much as she can. I can't say that it is life-changing, but it has certainly made her happier. She also hasn't been complaining to me of any long term effects or anything else potentially harmful. I trust her word.

 
Formulation: Fluoxetine 20 MG Oral Capsule
Rating: Poor
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 2 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 20
Weight: 103 lb / 47 kg
Prozac - Chris - 07-03-2009

Prozac may have helped others greatly without side effects, but I guess I was one of the unlucky ones who is sensitive to antidepressants. I was prescribed Prozac, because I have a history of depression and suicidal tendencies. The first thing I've noticed about taking Prozac was that I get nauseous and dizzy almost immediately. It wasn't bad enough to severely interfere with my life, but always having to ask my boyfriend to drive me from place to place is a bother. I've also noticed there wasn't any changes in my mood at all. My psychiatrist mentioned that it may sometimes take up to three weeks before any improvement may be seen, but after 2 months of being on Prozac, I still haven't noticed anything. My depression and suicidal tendencies were still there. My psychiatrist then suggested a higher dose but mentioned that the dizziness may worsen. At this point, I was tired of walking around looking like I was drunk, so I just stopped taking it. I guess some are just luckier than others.

 
Formulation: montelukast 10 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 1 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 30
Weight: 110 lb / 50 kg
Singulair - Brittany - 07-03-2009

I have suffered from asthma for years without realizing it until my last doctor's visit. I have had debilitating coughing episodes that became worse with travel or environmental issues, such as smoke or dust. The episodes have made traveling burdensome and kept me awake many nights. Since trying Singulair I have been cough-free for a full month and feel great. I have no side effects thus far and will continue using it if none occur.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 2 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 28
Weight: 114 lb / 52 kg
Motrin - Nicole - 07-03-2009

I have been active in sports for many years. I now have aches and pains in my shoulders and knee's from repetition. My doctor prescribed me some alternative medication, however I have found continued comfort from simply taking Ibuprofen. It is over the counter, and relieves my aches and pains relatively quickly. the pills are very inexpensive, and I try to take the lowest dose possible to relieve my pains. I am totally satisfied with the product!

 
Formulation: quetiapine 100 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 4 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 50
Weight: 257 lb / 117 kg
Seroquel - Linda - 07-03-2009

Seroquel is the most recent of the drugs I have tried for my moderate depression. Everything else had pretty severe side effects. My doctor warned my about he possibility of weight gain with Seroquel. (That is another of my problems.) But, it hasn't been an issue. In fact, the Seroquel seems to be working. I feel better in general and don't seem to be eating to compensate. It is too early to say this is life changing, but so far so good.

It has only been four months, I will see what happens over the next few months. Some of the other drugs worked for a while, but this seems to be last longer than the rest without the side effects.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 18 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 50
Weight: 257 lb / 117 kg
Lantus - Linda - 07-03-2009

After being diagnosed with Diabetes, I tried a couple different brands of insulin. Finally, my doctor gave me the Lantus pens. Easy to use and I had great control of my blood sugars. I am even having more success controlling my weight. If it keeps up, I may be able to eventually stop using insulin completely.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 12 Months
Gender: Male
Age: 49
Weight: 249 lb / 113 kg
Advair Diskus - Russ - 07-03-2009

Allergies were always a problem when I tried to participate in outdoor activities. After it got worse and worse, my doctor did a full evaluation and found an underling asthma condition. He suggested Avair Diskus. Just once a day and I can enjoy all the outside activities the rest of my family enjoy.

The inhaler is easy to use and the countdown feature mean I never worry about running out.

 
Formulation: Ethinyl Estradiol 0.03 MG / Levonorgestrel 0.15 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 6 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 23
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Seasonique - Laura - 07-03-2009

I've dealt with heavy periods since I was 12. I've tried several other forms of birth control pills including YAZ, but this one is much better.

The first 3 months do have some "surprise" spotting, but it's worth it. You only have 4 periods a year, and they are so much easier than what I went through before. No cramps, 2 days of bleeding - I can deal with that!

 
Formulation: Sertraline 100 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Poor
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 6 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 23
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Zoloft - Laura - 07-03-2009

I have very mixed feelings about Zoloft. I had tried other anti-depressants to treat both depression and anxiety, but my psychiatrist recommended we give this one a go. We started with 25 mg per day, and that seemed to work for a few weeks. When it wasn't working anymore we increased it to 50 mg per day, but that also only worked for a few weeks. By the end of it I was taking 200 mg per day and even then it just didn't seem to help.

It didn't turn me into a zombie like the others did, but it didn't really treat my symptoms, either. One of the most negative side effects was lack of sex drive. It seems trivial, but often with depression your relationship with your partner is effected. While he was trying to support me, it was hard for him to understand why I didn't want to be touched.

 
Formulation: Phentermine Hydrochloride 37.5 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 7 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 23
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Adipex-P - Laura - 07-03-2009

I've battled with my weight for as long as I can remember. I tend to fluctuate quite a bit and the hardest part for me is always getting over the first 10 pounds.

In January 2009 I weighed 180 pounds - too much for only being 5 foot 3. I saw my doctor and I have lost almost 40 pounds. He monitored me every month to make sure there was consistent weight loss and that my blood pressure wasn't going up. I've read that some people experienced increased heart rate, and high blood pressure but I never did. If anything, it seemed like I just drank a cup of coffee.

This is not a long term medicine, but it did help me get over the hump and get motivated so I could get to my goal weight the healthy way.

 
Formulation: zolpidem 10 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 6 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 23
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Ambien - Laura - 07-03-2009

I had problems falling asleep. Once I fell asleep I was fine, but it was just getting me to that point. After months of not sleeping well I saw my doctor and he prescribed me Ambien.

It really works, and I didn't experience any side effects. The next morning I would wake up feeling refreshed, not drowsy. I used Ambien every night for about 2 weeks, and there was no tolerance built up. Now I've gotten to the point where I only use it was needed.

I would definitely suggest this to anyone needing help with insomnia.

 
Formulation: Isotretinoin 40 MG Oral Capsule
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 6 Months
Gender: Male
Age: 25
Weight: 169 lb / 77 kg
Accutane - Laytonhamblin - 07-03-2009

While I was in highschool I suffered from severe acne. This was in part due to my genetic and also part due to face washing habits. I washed my face so many times a day that I upset the oil balance of my skin. I started taking accutane after nothing else was very effective. I instantly saw results. My face began to clear up noticeably and people began to tell me that my face looked a lot better. But there were side effects that went along with accutane. I have red hair, and I quickly learned that accutane makes on very sensitive to the sun. I found this out after playing a double header for my high school baseball team on a Saturday. As my baseball season progressed I also noticed that my joints began to be very sore and that it was difficult to run. By the end of the season my coach was pinch hitting for me because I could no longer run the bases effectively. Luckily I was a third baseman and didn’t have to run a lot in the field. Accutane worked wonders on my acne, but the other side effects were very real and very severe.

 
Formulation: Cetirizine 10 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 7 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 23
Weight: 158 lb / 72 kg
Zyrtec - lhamblin - 07-03-2009

9 years ago I was diagnosed as suffering from chronic hives. My hives were so bad at times that I would be unable to sleep at night. It would toss and turn all night and I felt like all I wanted to do was crawl out of my skin. My physician told me that the hives were caused by an overproduction of histamine. My doctors started me on a myriad of medications, but only one worked. That one medication was Zyrtec. While other antihistamines I had taken caused me to suffer a multitude of side effects, including drowsiness and dry mouth, while taking Zyrtec I did not experience any side effects. It was truly a life changing medication for me. When I take Zyrtec I don’t get hives and seasonal allergies do not have any effect on me. I take one 10 mg pill every night before going to bed. Before Zyrtec I felt very restricted. It was embarrassing to be itching all the time and I felt very self conscious. Now things are so much better and I feel that I have gotten my life back.

 
Formulation: Amphetamine aspartate 7.5 MG / Amphetamine Sulfate 7.5 MG / Dextroamphetamine saccharate 7.5 MG / Dextroamphetamine Sulfate 7.5 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 4 Years
Gender: Male
Age: 24
Weight: 174 lb / 79 kg
Adderall - Steven - 07-02-2009

I have been taking this drug for the past four years and it has had a great effect on my work life. I am able to concentrate for long periods of times and get massive amounts of work done. There are very few side effects that I have encountered.

 
Formulation: Sulfamethoxazole 400 MG / Trimethoprim 80 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Poor
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 3 Days
Gender: Female
Age: 21
Weight: 114 lb / 52 kg
Bactrim - Annie - 07-02-2009

I had a bladder infection about 2 months ago, and the doctor prescribed me Bactrim- he gave me 2 rounds of it, one for the current infection and one in case I got another one. I took it twice a day for 3 days. When I finished the course, I still had the bladder infection for another 2-3 days before my symptoms went away.

Last week, I got what I thought was another bladder infection, much worse than the previous one. I tried the second round of bactrim, but again the symptoms didn't go away, so I returned to the doctor (a different one this time). He said it appeared that this "new" bladder infection was actually the same one from before, so basically the bactrim did not treat it at all either time I took it. I'm dissapointed that I wasted my time and money on the bactrim which didn't even work.

 
Formulation: Omeprazole 10 MG Extended Release Capsule
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 10 Years
Gender: Male
Age: 33
Weight: 174 lb / 79 kg
Prilosec - Bobo - 07-02-2009

I used to have terrible heartburn just about every day. Finally, my doctor prescribed Prilosec. After a few days, I didn't have heartburn. Whenever I tried getting off it, the heartburn would come back. I've been checked for serious conditions, but apparently, my body just produces a lot of acid. Prilosec is so important to me that for several years before it went over-the-counter, I used to pay $100 per month for my prescription. At the time I only made $14,000 per year. Not that the price has come down and I have insurance, I never go without it.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Regrettable
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 3 Days
Gender: Female
Age: 39
Weight: 138 lb / 63 kg
Singulair - kath10 - 07-02-2009

Unfortunately, when I tried this medicine I had vivid dreams and disturbing thoughts of death and suicide. I was pretty sick and my asthma was bothering me a lot, but I did not expect to feel suddenly obsessed with death. My husband assured me that this was not like me. We called the doctor and let her know that we threw the pills away. I didn't notice a whole lot of positive effects regarding breathing, either.

 
Formulation: Metronidazole 500 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 7 Days
Gender: Male
Age: 38
Weight: 257 lb / 117 kg
Flagyl - AB - 07-02-2009

I had an abscessed tooth that resulted in an infection. The infection was right where the lip meets the gum. My dentist performed a root canal, and put me on some antibiotics. When I went back, the infection was still there. I started another round of antibiotics, and a massive flareup caused swelling of my entire upper lip area.
I went to the minor emergency clinic, and they game me a shot and proscribed 3 medications, one of which was the Flagyl.
At first it didn't seem to help much, but by the end of the second day the swelling had greatly subsided. It was only a 7 day supply, but it was one of the best antibiotics I've ever had to take.
I was warned of side effects, but honestly didn't experience any of them.

 
Formulation: modafinil 100 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 2 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 41
Weight: 163 lb / 74 kg
Provigil - LB - 07-02-2009

As a side effect of my multiple sclerosis, I experience constant fatigue and dizziness. At times it gets to the point where I am unable to do more than sleep all day, barely moving to take care of personal needs, much less the kids or housework.

When I first started taking Provigil, it was a drastic improvement. I started with 50 mg and as I became acclimated to it, I worked up to 200mg. I went off of it briefly with my last pregnancy, but have gone back to the 100mg and it's working great.

Using it has allowed me to have a normal, full, active day. That also leads to one of the problems. I feel too energetic, and the result of "too busy" a day leaves me bedridden the next few days. As long as I do not take my dosage too late in the day, or overdo it physically, Provigil is the perfect fit to help my with debilitating fatigue.