Reviews

Formulation: 200 ACTUAT Albuterol 0.09 MG/ACTUAT Metered Dose Inhaler
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 3 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 37
Weight: 189 lb / 86 kg
ProAir HFA - JL - 07-06-2009

I was diagnosed with exercise induced asthma when I started running for exercise. I always had difficulty breathing, but never thought it was asthma. I started running with a doctor who was able to diagnose me and sent me for treatment. I now use my inhaler before running and it helps me breathe. In fact, I have ran 5 half marathons and a full marathon.

 
Formulation: Sertraline 25 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 11 Months
Gender: Male
Age: 23
Weight: 176 lb / 80 kg
Zoloft - Nick Summers - 07-06-2009

Unfortunately, Zoloft did not bring out the warm sun or scented flowers for me. It did stop the rain from falling on a daily basis and it did close the hole that was opening in the ground beneath my feet, but that was the extent of the effect that it had on me. It was definitely a relief not to see the world around me in cold, gray colors any longer, but I was hoping that this medication could help me to feel warmth around me and inside of me. I wish that it would have done more to help me be a part of life rather than just a spectator. Well, at least now I do not feel like walking away from the show like I did many times before now that I am on this medication. That I am grateful for. If I learn of a medicine that can help me to see the world in vibrant and warm colors, and the side effects are pretty minimal like they are with Zoloft for me, then I will switch and give the other medicine a try. For now, though, this medicine is helping me to feel more connected to life than before I started on this medicine, and that is an improvement that I do not want to give up.

 
Formulation: Niacin 500 MG Extended Release Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 1 Years
Gender: Male
Age: 49
Weight: 171 lb / 78 kg
Niaspan - cmaas - 07-06-2009

Niaspan has been effective in raising my HDL - approximately 8 points in my case. I have experienced "flushing" occasionally (<1 month) ranging from mild to sever. Usually lasts about 15 minutes. There is no pattern to its occurrence. The first time was terrifying, but once you know what to expect, it is not that bad. Reluctant to increase dosage, however.

 
Formulation: 21 DAY Estradiol 0.000625 MG/HR / Etonogestrel 0.005 MG/HR Vaginal Suppository
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 24 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 28
Weight: 187 lb / 85 kg
NuvaRing - Katie - 07-06-2009

I found that with the use of this, my periods were lighter, my cramps nearly subsided, and I could tell nearly to the hour when my period would come. I would recommend this for anyone looking to control their periods with the use of a hormonal birthcontrol. The only side effects I experienced was a slight weight gain at the beginning.

 
Formulation: 120 ACTUAT mometasone furoate 0.05 MG/ACTUAT Nasal Inhaler
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 3 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 30
Weight: 127 lb / 58 kg
Nasonex - Cindy - 07-06-2009

I have the worst allergies - they consist of sneezing and headaches most of the day leaving me exhausted by the end of the night. I ran the gamut of trying all nasal sprays, OTC medicine, and finally was prescribed Nasonex. Within a week I was able to wake up and breathe without being congested and was able to function again. I did not have any of the side effects listed.

When I became pregnant and could no longer take the medication my allergies came back full force and I could not wait to get back on Nasonex - I took it to the hospital with me!! This was life-changing for me and I will continue to use it.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: -
Continuing Use: -
Duration: -
Gender: -
Age: -
Weight: -
Detrol - hdl - 07-06-2009

This medication is a lifesaver. The extended release formula is superior to the original formulation. I haven't noticed any side effects.

The medication helps with both urinary urgency and frequency. I can go on trips without stopping every 2 hours to go to the bathroom!

 
Formulation: Sertraline 100 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 5 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 51
Weight: 264 lb / 120 kg
Zoloft - Cheryl - 07-06-2009

When I first started using Zoloft it was a great help, I was depressed and could hardly keep up with my daily activities, it seems as time has gone on it doesn't work as well as it first did. Another thing I have noticed for my son who also takes it and for myself if we forget it for a day or two I get awful headaches and become very angry for no reason.

 
Formulation: Escitalopram 20 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 3 Years
Gender: Male
Age: 44
Weight: 339 lb / 154 kg
Lexapro - Hugo - 07-06-2009

I have suffered no adverse side-effects with this medication, but I wonder if it's helping me. I have pretty severe, ongoing depression. I've tried many antidepressants and none seem to work, but at least Lexapro does not seem to have any negative side-effects in my experience.

 
Formulation: pregabalin 100 MG Oral Capsule
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 3 Months
Gender: Male
Age: 25
Weight: 171 lb / 78 kg
Lyrica - vijayanand - 07-06-2009

its really good to take it have changed my life pattern. Thanks to one and all.

 
Formulation: gabapentin 300 MG Oral Capsule
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 3 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 29
Weight: -
Neurontin - Abby - 07-06-2009

I was injured and damaged the soft tissues of my left ankle. After several years, it became obvious the nerves had been damaged as well. When the pain began to dominate my life to the point I could no longer work, my physician prescribed several medications but none of them worked till we tried Neurontin.

It helps a great deal with the nerve pain specifically, including the pain that shoots from the ankle up into the hip or down into the foot. It doesn't affect the muscle pain, of course. It also does not affect the paresthesias (tingling, twitching, burning or cold sensations) but those are more bizarre than actually painful.

I do find that the medication makes me very sleepy, especially when I had to increase my dose or change from one generic formulation to another. If you are taking generics, try to minimize switching between brands (my old brand was discontinued).

 
Formulation: topiramate 200 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Regrettable
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 2 Weeks
Gender: Male
Age: 18
Weight: 149 lb / 68 kg
Topamax - Michael - 07-06-2009

I was prescribed Topamax as an off-label anti-psychotic drug to aid with bipolar disorder. I discontinued treatment after two weeks, due to unbearable side effects.

It made me shaky, edgy, nauseated, and gave me a condition similar to narcolepsy. I slept about 13 hours a day, and still managed to fall asleep during classes.

It did help with mood swings, but mostly just because I wasn't awake for it. It also made me quite stupid, somewhat like how I imagine zombies feel.

 
Formulation: Lisdexamfetamine 50 MG Oral Capsule
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 6 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 21
Weight: 127 lb / 58 kg
Vyvanse - laurenshea - 07-06-2009

I have suffered from ADHD since I was a child. The medication available then was nothing compared to Vyvanse. I have been a completely different person since taking it for my adult ADHD. It allows me to focus and get things done during the day. Previously simple tasks were hard for me to complete. The side effects have been mild. I experience dry mouth and a loss of appetite, but nothing serious. Overall it is a life changing medication and I would highly recommend it!

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 2 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 34
Weight: 163 lb / 74 kg
Lexapro - Krissy - 07-06-2009

My doctor calls my condition depression. I call my condition anxiety. Over a period of a year, I experienced several risk factors for depression, including being hypothyroid for a period of six months while being treated for thyroid cancer. During that year and many stressful situations, my chest muscles became tighter and tighter until my chest always hurt. I was always tense and emotionally inflexible. Then I found a doctor who put me on Lexapro. By the end of the first week, the pain in my chest was gone. By the end of the first month, I was laughing and smiling easily and felt generally relaxed. Along with therapy, by the end of six months, my internal landscape was far greener and fresh with possibility again. A small change in brain chemistry really can have a huge impact on one's life.

The only negative that I have experienced with the Lexapro is some stomach upset and acidy-reflux. I had never experienced this before starting the Lexapro. Taking probiotics regularly has helped immensely, though.

 
Formulation: Citalopram 40 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 3 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 31
Weight: 127 lb / 58 kg
Celexa - Tammy - 07-06-2009

Although effective, I really had incredible difficulty taking Celexa. It caused really vivid dreams. They weren't nightmares per-say but they were so realistic that I couldn't differentiate them from real life. I didn't have the problem my first two years on the drug, but during my 3rd year it go so bad, that my doctor changed me to a different drug. I don't recommend Celexa, but work with your Dr. and share any side effects you experience.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 4 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 42
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Claritin-D 24 Hour - Katherine - 07-06-2009

I've used Claritin-D 24-hour a number of times for seasonal allergies. It has worked pretty well but I don't think the relief seems to last the full 24-hours. I've found that I'm usually ready for another dose at least a few hours before the 24-hour time period has elapsed. I think I prefer the 12-hour version, as two 12-hour doses seemed to provide more consistent relief.

 
Formulation: Clarithromycin 500 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 10 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 42
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Biaxin - Katherine - 07-06-2009

Biaxin is the antibiotic that works well for me every time. I don't experience any side effects from it and it reliably reduces my symptoms after a couple of days. I've used it to treat sinus infections and other upper respiratory problems for years and I've always been happy with the results.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 12 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 42
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Proventil HFA - Katherine - 07-06-2009

Proventil HFA is great. It rapidly relieves my shortness of breath,chest tightness and coughing when my asthma flares, but doesn't make me jittery like other albuterol preparations. Ever since the first time I tried Proventil HFA I haven't used any other fast-acting bronchodilator, because this works so well.

 
Formulation: Fluoxetine 40 MG Oral Capsule
Rating: Poor
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 4 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 42
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Prozac - Katherine - 07-06-2009

I was prescribed Prozac years ago when I suffered from depression. It worked to relieve depression symptoms but I experienced numerous troublesome side effects. My appetite increased significantly and I began to experience frightening and vivid dreams. My physician changed my medication and shortly thereafter the side effects went away. I found equally good results for depression symptoms from Zoloft without any of Prozac's side effects.

 
Formulation: Sertraline 50 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Life Changing
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 2 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 42
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Zoloft - Katherine - 07-06-2009

Zoloft was an amazing help to me when I suffered from depression years ago. I noticed results in only about 7-8 days - it was as if my tensions and stress just lifted and I began to feel like myself again. I also used it years later when I developed fibromyalgia and it was prescribed as a sleep aid. Again, after a brief period I noticed impressive results: I was able to sleep through the night and woke up feeling more refreshed and energetic. I would highly recommend Zoloft for symptoms of depression as well as fibromyalgia.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Poor
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 2 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 42
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Advair Diskus - Katherine - 07-06-2009

Advair diskus did not work for me, despite high hopes for its success. I know other people who love it and obtained excellent results but I found that my asthma symptoms almost worsened when I was using the product. I tried it on two or three separate occasions and each time had to stop using it to go back to another more helpful product.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 7 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 42
Weight: 141 lb / 64 kg
Flovent HFA - Katherine - 07-06-2009

FloVent HFA is the most reliable inhaled steroid I've used for my mild asthma symptoms. I've tried other medications and they have not worked as well for me. FloVent has not given me any noticeable side effects.

 
Formulation: -
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 8 Years
Gender: Female
Age: 42
Weight: 143 lb / 65 kg
Allegra-D - Katherine - 07-06-2009

Allegra-D has become my go-to antihistamine-decongestant combination drug. It offers quick relief for nasal congestion and allergy symptoms without drowsiness or jitters. Allegra-D has always been reliable for me!

 
Formulation: Amphetamine aspartate 3.75 MG / Amphetamine Sulfate 3.75 MG / Dextroamphetamine saccharate 3.75 MG / Dextroamphetamine Sulfate 3.75 MG Extended Release Capsule
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 6 Months
Gender: Male
Age: 20
Weight: 279 lb / 127 kg
Adderall - Winfield - 07-06-2009

I was skeptical going in that Adderall was going to change my life entirely; I was scattered and needed to focus, so my doc prescribed this. After taking it, I was surprised at how... still myself I was, in spite of having more energy and will to complete the things I had to complete in time.

Occasionally while on Adderall I experience dry mouth. There was one time I took it and then gave a 20-minute presentation where I talked the whole time. I have never had a drier mouth! But over all, as long as you don't take this right before you go to bed, there won't be any crazy side effects. If there are, it still would probably be worth it!

 
Formulation: drospirenone 3 MG / Ethinyl Estradiol 0.02 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Statisfactory
Continuing Use: No
Duration: 12 Months
Gender: Female
Age: 24
Weight: 194 lb / 88 kg
Yaz - Jacqueline - 07-06-2009

I used Yaz to prevent pregnancy. It was one of many pill forms of contraception that I used and I felt it worked adequately. I did not have any serious side effects but I did experience a lack of sex drive with Yaz and other pills.

 
Formulation: quetiapine 200 MG Oral Tablet
Rating: Good
Continuing Use: Yes
Duration: 18 Months
Gender: Male
Age: 53
Weight: 257 lb / 117 kg
Seroquel - AnitaJay - 07-06-2009

My husband suffered from undiagnosed bipolar disorder for years. It wasn't until his daughter was hospitalized with symptoms familiar to him, that he finally was diagnosed. I did not know about the auditory hallucinations, the voices and the racing thoughts he suffered from for all those years. I know his whole life changed when he started taking the Seroquel. He has tried on occasion to reduce the amount he takes, and sometimes that will go on for a few weeks; but I know he will never totally stop taking this medication. I am so sorry he suffered for so long before finding out he could live without the suicidal thoughts that he had to deal with all those years.